Auction House Day1

August 11, 2009

The goal of this blog is to keep track of my antics on the auction house and possibly some information on my raiding fun in my casual guild.

I am a bit behind where I wanted to start this blog so I am actually going to dump a week + worth of posts that I have been keeping track of via a word document. So here it goes.

Day 1 – buying cheep green and blues for enchanting supplies on Kamishi

Average intake on dust at current undercutting price is 3g per dust

Average intake on shards is 14.5g at current undercut

Did not sell any essences

Do not buy any green over 8.5g to break even or to make a profit

Do not buy any blue over 10g to make a profit

Ignore all epics currently

 Goal – 20k gold in 2 months

 Day 2 – Tips presented today: Craft Netherweave bags

                                                Craft Cloak of Crimson Snow

                                                Craft Azure and Shining Spellthreads

                                                Craft 28 Slot Warlock bags

                                                Bolts of Imbued Frostweave

Codes to use

/auctioneer percentless (60% below market value – profit!)
/auctioneer bidbroker
/auctioneer compete  

 Tonight was much better in terms of figuring out what is going on in the community of my server.  Netherweave bags are making a 40%-80% profit margin from buying up all the netherweave on the AH for 5g and under. Started in on the Imbued Frostweave market, no sales today on that.  Started leveling my jewelcrafting on my alt. Its amazing how you can make back the money you spend on ore just from prospecting. I got all the gems I needed for the night and made money.  So with the bank account of 660g and about 300g in mats I am up over 1800g today between the 3 chars.

 Day 3 – People are dumb. Making money from people putting stuff on ah for under vendor price seems silly, but it happens. So far only had time to scan 1 time in the morning and 1 time when I get home each day, going to try to up that to 3 this weekend minimum.

 The enchanting market seems very volatile and very hard to make a profit out of. I could probably squeeze a profit from doing scrolls but that is just cumbersome and annoying. I might have to stockpile until this weekend and next week when many people are going to be doing the new content and regearing.

 Wee lunch time at the office produced some amazing results. Netherweave stacks going for well under what I am willing to pay for them. 2.3g a stack for around 20 stacks. Now I am going to turn around and make those into Netherweave bags and sell them at the ah for 9g a bag. So I stand to make 5.8g a bag after ah cut. 200% profit! Now mind you 100g a day is not a great profit but that is not even 10 mins of me paying attention other then to type in netherweave cloth. The rest of the time was me turning all this cloth into bolts and going to get a pizza while that was going on.  Tin ore seems to be high on the market so prospecting that is not profitable yet. I think I may have to log in my other account to start mining that soon so I can level my jewelcrafting a bit faster on my shaman. Speaking of which today is start to level shaman to 65 day then find a port to dalaran to master out jewelcrafting and make some real cash when the patch hits.  Speaking of which I should be changing over my Shaman from enchanting to Inscription soon to also work the card market.

 Days 4 + 5

 Well I am well over 4k gold and I have around 1k gold in items waiting to move. The Arcane Dust Market got flooded this weekend so I will be unable to move any of that for a while, but I will keep picking up items and DEing them for mats.  I need to run Karazhan and Mag Terrace on a regular basis for void crystals. Mongoose enchants are selling like they are going out of style.  I sold 3 this weekend alone. Trying to level mining and jewelcrafting has been a nightmare. Next up is inscription to level.

 So far my Horde experiment is going well, unfortunately pets are not selling worth anything on that side. Low level materials are selling like hot cakes though.  It seems the Horde have much smarter people or just that the population is so low on my server that things aren’t selling as fast. I am looking to start moving horde only pets over to alliance side soon.\

 Day 6

 Seems I am being undercut in the netherweave bag business a bit and people are snapping up my chanting mats lately.  My mongoose enchants should sell this week easy so I need to stock up on those big time. I got to 351 jewelcrafting tonight so it is time to level to 65 in a hurry now and get to dalaran asap.  Then we grind jewelcrafting to as high as it takes to break down ore for mats.  Paying people to run me through instances. I am doing Slave Pens 1 more time now that I can nab the quest and then doing underbog to finish the quest for extra exp.  I bought a pet from someone for 600g and am selling it for over 1kg. I also bought 3 frozen orbs for 60g and am selling them for 80g. If that doesn’t pan out I will make leg armor kits out of them from a local leatherworker.  Overall good day.

 Day 7

 Patch day is here and there is much money to be had. Time to park a few characters in the spots where the rare raptor pets drop and go nuts farming.  I am hoping to make a good 4-8k off raptor pet farming for a while this week if I get lucky.  Enchanting should do well this week and if I get my shaman to 65 I should make oodles of money on gems. Also transmuting time for my druid J  Checking on lunch to see if I can log into wow yet to set characters up for farming.

 Auctioneer was borked for a bit and it was hard to do any dedicated auctioning. The fight over netherweave bags begins. I can drop my prices pretty low on the bags and still make a good profit since I keep at a certain pricing for buying cloth. I should be able to stop who ever it is from undercutting heavy.  That or they start buying up my stock and I start making money hand over fist on them with just a small cut in my profit margin.  Seems the disenchant setup is starting to dry up a bit as well. I will nab up what I can when I see it but I need a new stream of income soon.

 Day 8

 Seems my attempt at a new stream of income is going to be coming from rare raptor pets if I can ever get into an instance.  Unfortunately running the new heroics is going to kill my earning money off pets.  Though I might be able to run my paladin to the areas in wailing caverns if I can ever zone into the place. For right now I am staying far away from the epic gem market till it settles a bit. Prices are way down as people mow through ore and burn all their badges on the new gems.  I might be able to get some of the gems for cheap for right now and sell them higher later when supply dries up.

 Spent 1k gold today on gems because I am too lazy to go hunt down a jewelcrafter. I think it actually might be time to stockpile these cheap epic gems for when the supply runs out this weekend.  I might be able to make some serious cash on this. So we have a couple undercutters in the ah on my netherweave bags. I did have a fairly good monopoly on those things but it seems someone is jumping into my business and I am going to have to put them down in a harsh way.  I am still making money hand over fist by undercutting them by a few silver since I buy the mats on the cheap.  I would think the people with all the netherweave in the ah for 5gold would realize that it isn’t really selling at that price and keep it in the range where I would pick it up.  Ah well time to make back the gold I spent last night and see what happens.

 Day 9

 Server down this morning and then when it came back up the auction house was getting errors again.  Looks like lunch time to go check the ah and see what deals I can pick up.

Well that is all for today and will update tomorrow with some raid fun since tonight is raid night.

Leave a Reply

